top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Welcome to Monday!

As Revd Rhian is currently away on a well deserved holiday, Maude and I (Revd Jude) will be looking after the blog.



Being part of the Glamorgan Heritage Coast Parish has been a huge blessing for me as a resident and as a minister. Throughout my time in the Parish, first as a Reader and latterly as a Priest. I am delighted to be meeting so many different people and making new friends as I journey through the Parish – often on my bicycle which means I can stop easily to have a chat.

In spite of the Pandemic, I still manage to bump into at least one member of our faith community when I go into Llantwit Major – to Filco, Co-op or Well. And while we are re-learning the art of queuing, we are having different conversations about how we are feeling and coping with doing things differently, with shielding, or with helping others who have been shielding.

As we come cautiously out of lock-down, I hope that we do not become too fragmented. I hope we retain our pre-pandemic friendship groups while continuing to grow our new mid-pandemic friendships!

If you managed to look at the Sunday Service yesterday you may have noticed the picture is of St Mary's, Monknash. I took the photograph a couple of years ago on one of our Parish walks.

Journeying seems to feature quite a lot in Revd Rhian's Blog, so it will be an opportunity for me to share some of my own journeyings with you in the next couple of weeks.

We'll have a look at The Cathedrals in Coventry, Warwickshire and Christchurch, New Zealand.

I'm hoping to dip into some poetry and some music along the way. To get us started, here's a little taste of Mr Darcy - courtesy of the Classic FM website


Life-size Mr Darcy cake baked to celebrate Pride and Prejudice’s 25th anniversary

4 September 2020, 10:47 | Updated: 4 September 2020, 11:09

A cake to celebrate Mr Darcy. Picture: BBC / PA

By Sian Hamer



It is a truth universally acknowledged, that Mr Darcy looks even better as a Victoria sponge.

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Pride and Prejudice TV adaptation, one baker did what most cake professionals would.


She create a life-size sponge model of Jane Austen’s most eligible edible bachelor, Mr Darcy, played in the 1995 series by Colin Firth.

Standing at a whopping 6ft, and comprised of 20kg of flour, 20kg of butter and 45kg of sugar, Michelle Wibowo’s moorish masterpiece took 200 hours to make.

It almost looks too good to eat...


The cake was unveiled at Lyme Park in Cheshire. Picture: PAThe cake was made to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Pride and Prejudice TV series. Picture: PA



It was unveiled at Lyme Park in Cheshire, the real-life ‘Pemberley’ in whose grounds Darcy famously emerged from a lake, only to bump into a rather flustered Elizabeth.

“What better reason than the 25th anniversary of the series of Pride And Prejudice to create a birthday cake to celebrate,” Michelle said.

“I’ve created cakes of everyone from the Queen to Beyoncé,” she continued, “but Mr Darcy officially tops the list as the most delicious model I’ve ever made.

Michelle Wibowo was the baker behind the incredible masterpiece. Picture: PA


“I hope his legions of fans will approve!”

Suddenly, we feel the urge to take a spontaneous trip to Cheshire...


I wonder who you would like to see in cake form?!





34 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page