top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Wednesday 17th June 2020 - Ita Compline

Tonight's compline is again from the Northumbria community and is the one used there on Sundays. It is called the Ita compline. It focuses on Ita's examination of the heart and prayers for the care and protection for each person whom we come in contact with daily.

Ita ran a school for boys in Ireland and focused her teachings upon:-

faith in God

With purity of heart,

simplicity of life

with religion;

generosity

with love.


She was also a prioress at a woman's community in Killeeddy, Co Limerick. She died back in 570 and was widely loved. One of her "pupils" was Brendan who held her in wide respect, as a foster mother and spiritual adviser.



+ (silently)


The Sacred Three

to save

to shield

to surround

the hearth

the home

this night and every night.


Search me, O God, and know my heart.

Test me and know my thoughts.


See if there is any wicked way in me

and lead me in the way everlasting.


O Father, O Son, O Holy Spirit

Forgive me my sins.

O only-begotten Son of the heavenly Father,

forgive.

O God who is one,

O God who is true,

O God who is first,

O God who is one substance,

O God only mighty,

in three persons truly merciful,

forgive.


O God of life, this night,

O darken not to me Thy light.


O God of life this nighty,

close not Thy gladness to my sight.


Keep Your people, Lord,

in the arms of Your embrace,

Shelter them under Your wings.


Be their light in darkness.

be their hope in distress.

Be their calm in anxiety.


Be strength in their weakness.


Be their comfort in their pain.


Be their song in the night.


In peace will I lie down,

for it is You, O Lord,

You alone who makes me to rest secure.


Be it on Your own beloved arm,

O God of grace, that I in peace shall awake.


Be the peace of the Spirit mine this night.

Be the peace of the Son mine this night.

Be the peace of the Father mine this night.

The peace of all peace be mine this night.

+ in the name of the Father,

and of the Son,

and of the Holy Spirit. AMEN




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page