top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Untitled


I do love Saturdays! I love our travels around the globe and the many things I am learning and I know from your emails you are too. I hope that Jude as she covers for me for the next two weeks also takes you to some exciting places. I am sure she will!


We used to have Icelandic neighbours when I lived in Dinas Powis ( as I was taught to spell it, back in the day!) and they had such light hair colouring and clear fresh complections. The two children almost looked albino. I can honestly say initially Iceland held no call for me, though as I have grown older and learned more, it certainly does now! It is an expensive country to visit and the weather a bit risky even in the summer!



When I studied geography I was always fascinated by glaciers and the history they contain. Ice is such a powerful thing and responsible for landform shapes and forms - the famous V and U shaped valleys I am sure we remember learning about! Iceland is indeed a land of fire and ice.



The hot springs and geysers are some of the highlights to visit in this beautiful country. Equally the mud geysers too! You can't blame the Icelandic people for developing spas such as here at the Blue Lagoon. It seems almost unreal in the midst of snow and chilly weather to be swimming outdoors in this luxurious spa, so warm and attractive, despite the wind and the cold temperatures. I recall going to Austria in May once, and the crowds sunbathing in bikinis in the snow at the top of the mountains. It was almost surreal,a bit perhaps like the swimming outdoors in the snow covered Icelandic land.



I wonder if this feature is open in these Covid-19 days? Have any of you been to the Blue Lagoon or to see Iceland's many charms? Do let me know. I love hearing about your adventures and memories of travelling, whether here or anywhere else.

Have a good day!



 

Quite different, but you might enjoy on this Autumnal Saturday!



LATIN TEXT:

Ubi caritas et amor, Deus ibi est. Congregavit nos in unum Christi amor. Exsultemus, et in ipso jucundemur. Timeamus, et amemus Deum vivum. Et ex corde diligamus nos sincero.

ENGLISH TRANSLATION:

Where charity and love are, there God is. The love of Christ has gathered us into one. Let us exult, and in Him be joyful. Let us fear and let us love the living God. And from a sincere heart let us love each other (and Him). I found this on facebook, but the group isn't named at all so I can offer no credit. Inspiring aren't they? I shall pop then into a compline at some point, I think as they sing so wonderfully.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page