top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Prayer in all our days



We so often worry about how we pray; what do we say, what should be do, where do we go to pray etc? Today, I thought we might start a bit of a journey of prayer, dropping in on it from time to time.


We don't have to pass an exam to be able to speak with God, we don't even have to have words. We can use silence, music, burn incense, use images such a burning candle or an icon or a photograph, we can use objects such as a cross, rosary. holding cross etc. You do need to be comfortable and there is no need to kneel or retire to church or chapel. You need to do what is appropriate for you and where you are at on your journey with God. It can never be wrong and God always listens and hears us, but we are not always as good at listening to what God says to us and the many ways he communicates with us.




As many of you know I have a soft spot for Ty Mawr Convent and often went there when I lived in The Narth, near Monmouth. It was a warm and friendly place and it oozed prayer and joy in Christ. The very stones of which the house and chapel were made, felt saturated in so many prayers, and to go and share in the Angelus and Eucharist to hear the the list of intercession topics and names felt embracing, as if hands holding people before God. A place of gentleness, love, holy and yet worldly.



I have always had much time for the contemplative life. Some days I feel I could happily absorb all that for myself and then in reality know I would soon go mad as I need to work with and alongside people, and those of you who know me recognise I chatter too much! Periods of solitude and prayer are great and much needed at times, but for me it could be a hide away! I had thought lockdown would give me space to do many of my "to do" list: what a joke! I have been far too busy and the list remains still "to do!" Perhaps, I will embrace it when I retire!



I like St Basil's statement, because surely prayer life is exactly about life and cannot be placed into prayer time compartments. It is too huge, to limit it! Being grounded in prayer obviously includes our set times of prayer, whatever that might be, morning, evening prayer, compline, the Eucharist. Grace at meal times, the "on the hop" prayers for help or gratitude, but also and importantly the rest of our days, how we serve God, through others, through silence, through serving, through thought etc.


This is where I believe St Basil is directing us our whole being - our life should be an ongoing prayer, grounded in our relationship with God in Christ. It is about our communication with God and our allowing space, time, so that we too hear how God addresses us. It is about being comfortable with God and familiar in some ways, but not cocky and over-confident. It should reflect and radiate through our lives, what we do, how we are and how we react to others. Prayer life doesn't need to be showy, in fact that would be wrong, but absorbing. It isn't an opportunity to make shows of crossing yourself or responding as loudly as you can, but rather being in communion with God, quietly, humbly and knowing ourselves that we so often don't always get it right, so learning and growing with Christ daily.


This is a piece of music from Margaret Rizza, "Silence surrendered" which I find helpful both in contemplation, worship and also in prayer times. It never fails to make even the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. I like it best just played without lyrics but see what you think. It is powerful music for me on my journey. See if you find it useful in your prayer time or to still you when worried, upset etc. Do let me know!

41 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page