top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Past and present and even future!


I have always longed to live in a house with a strong association to the past. Even as a child I wanted beams and then to have an inglenook fireplace and so on. Now, I can hear you saying "I want," doesn't have! But for me, that joy of living where countless others have over the years and to see and share visible signs of that link to the past is so important. We are but guardians for a while of some historical treasure. I love the feeling that if these stones could talk, what a lot I could learn and gain from.




I know my friend Ruth would say, you want new, modern, fresh clean lines is exactly what you need. She would argue it is sufficient to have a link to the past through our ancient buildings and churches and we do not have to live with the challenging issues of damp, drafts and such like. My son would argue buildings should be energy sufficient and I should engage with all things green in my hypothetical house. After all our basic needs to be warm, have access to a property which is roofed and fitted to allow for comfortable living and nutritious food is important, not just about being uncomfortable, and challenged just because a link with the past is desirable!





We are though, challenged by the past every single day of our lives and the past has shaped us as we are today. My desire to hold the link between then and now might be interesting, but holding the two in harmony can conflict. My needs are not always the same as someone's three hundred years ago, if I need the internet for work and worship these days. We are challenged by what we might want and especially need. After all what is important heat or zoned heat in my house, light or led light and so on.


The conflict we might experience in a house can also be transferred to relationships. What is important. Do we care? Is it about just being nice to all or addressing truths with honesty? Is it valuing others as much as we value our own opinions. No-one has the right to tell others that they are complicated and not worth bothering with and so on. Everyone matters, but so does respect and openness. We need to touch base with what shaped us, to be who we are and how we evolved into what we are today and what might happen to us in the future. God calls each of us, as he has called his people throughout the years, all matter, all are to be valued and all step forward into the love of God. Stay in touch with what you are and where God wants you to be, valuing all things, but open to the God who moves us from security to insecurity and challenges each day to hold past present and future together.





Travel with me - Ruth Burgess


Travel with me, God,

Sit down besides me

and watch the world through

the train window.


Speak to me

through the people I meet.


Walk with me

into tower blocks

and forests.


Listen to me

when I'm happy

and when I'm sad.


Travel with me, God,

going out coming in,

heading homewards.


Travel with me

to and beyond the end,

whatever the end may be.



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page