top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Joy - Penny Snowden



Are you a joyous person? The definition of joy is a feeling of great pleasure and happiness. When I considered whether I was a joyous person my first thoughts were that possibly I’m not; perhaps I am more of a glass half empty type. But then I thought some more and realised that we all have many joyous experiences. There are some obvious examples - a wedding, the birth of a child and other of life’s events which bring great joy.


I am thinking about more fleeting times - what C S Lewis termed as being ‘surprised by joy’. We can find these moments, particular at this time of burgeoning spring. We have shared these on this blog haven’t we. The emergence of snowdrops from the frosty ground, seeming too delicate to survive; now the daffodils following on with their vibrance and cheerfulness; birds beginning their courtship rituals and singing their hearts out. These are all joyful.


Many years ago I had an encounter with a fox. We were both as surprised as each other. I walked around a bend in the field and there it was in front of me. Where the joy came in was that we both stood and looked at each other, really looked with eye to eye contact. It wasn’t afraid and we regarded each other with interest. Eventually it turned away and walked off. It was a dog fox with a lustrous colours and a gleaming coat. All these years later he is still in my mind’s eye.



What brought you joy that has lasted in your memory? Thank God for these moments of joy.


Earth's crammed with heaven, And every common bush afire with God: But only he who sees, takes off his shoes; The rest sit round it, and pluck blackberries


Elizabeth Barrett Browning




32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page