top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Journeying, one way or another



I love Summer days and the quieter feel that August has over the rest of the year. Maybe this year with post lockdown life only slowly opening up it hasn't been as noticeable, but this morning I did feel it. We had a weekly staff meeting but with so many people on holiday or tied up with different things, it all felt more relaxed. Do you feel August is generally slower and more relaxed? Is it the lull before the storm? In Methodism, September was the beginning of the Church year and all ministers moved in mid-August to start new appointments for the beginning of September when things went dashing off again.


So although very busy internally, I do feel relaxed and looking forward to my own break. There is plenty about to be occupied with. I am sure that you too are well occupied and maybe venturing out more and more, but with care. Are you managing a holiday at all? A few days perhaps with family or simply having a change of scene? Yesterday, saw David out of shielding which feels good after almost six months for him, but I don't think very much will change!


So this is a time for reflection and adopting a slower pace of life. It is yet another opportunity to focus on ourselves and where we are with you, Lord. We are journeying every day with you, though sometimes we feel alone and sometimes we are more self obsessed and push you out. August provided a time to reevaluate our relationship with Christ and to step forward afresh in faith and trust.


Travel with me


Travel with me, God,

Sit down beside me

and watch the world through

the train window.


Speak to me

through the people I meet.


Walk with me

into tower blocks

and forests.


Listen to me

when I'm happy

and when I'm sad.


Travel with me, God,

going out, coming in,

heading homewards.


Travel with me

to and beyond the end,

whatever the end may be.


Ruth Burgess.





Have a good Monday!


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page