top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Homily from farewell Eucharist 30.6.21


I have been asked to share this with you. So here goes!


Farewell Eucharist 30.6.21

I have dreaded this day for a little while now. Preparing to leave a place, a Ministry Area, where I feel comfortable, at home and amongst people whom I love dearly and a great team of colleagues, lay and ordained. I have spent much time considering what I would share with you and how I could challenge you in your journey of faith. To be here today isn’t easy and is uncomfortable and hugely painful, and wish that I could slip away quietly. I know as a priest I must also lead, celebrate the sacraments with you, counsel and pray for you all. You have taken me into your homes, lives and hearts and despite the hard time with Covid, we have still moved forwards with God. I had hoped to be with you for many years to come.


Yesterday, was the feast day of St Peter and St Paul – a day I have loved for many a year. It meant a Mass and a day off school! Yippee, as it followed my birthday, so was always a big cause for celebration as far as I was concerned as a youngster! It is also the main time of year for Ordinations in the church, at Petertide and indeed we remembered Rick our ordinand, and as he was ordained deacon on Saturday passed. Thea, a friend of mine, ordained in the Bath and Wells Diocese, on 26th: another former Meth and of course our own Joy Birkin who celebrates 25 years of serving as a priest. I was Ordained at this time of the year, in fact on Saturday 29th June in Newport Cathedral, you may be more familiar as St Woolos Cathedral. I celebrated my anniversary of Ordination yesterday, also as did Craig and no doubt Edwin too, in these days of Petertide.


Our Gospel for Peter and Paul is familiar and well known. Peter, who was the first person, Apostle to recognise who Jesus was – the Messiah, the one promised by God to save his people. He had been a fisherman and at Christ’s invitation followed him. Jesus saw in him much and signs of leadership. Peter though was also a bumbler and despite everything he knew about Jesus, much like us at times struggled, when he couldn’t walk on the water to Jesus. It was Peter who denied Christ and then wept about it. He had a faith wobble shall we say. But he was the rock and was challenged by Christ to care for his church and the people within it feed my lambs, tend my sheep. I like Peter, as he feels real and like us.

Paul on the other hand I personally find a more distant figure. He was important in the early church after his dramatic conversion but, Paul also had a bit of a struggle, to gain his authority and worth. He was a missionary and in those many journeys and writings to churches and young Christians. He was hugely important and has become perhaps, the main character in the early days of Christianity.


Paul and Peter knew difficulties and times, when following the Lord, was not easy. They both were very much instrumental along with the other Apostles and all of Jesus’ friends in spreading the Gospel of Christ Jesus, as far as possible. We know that being a Christian isn’t always easy and we have all seen people who have a wobble and lose faith, even if for a short time. Being a follower of Christ does not guarantee an easy passage and sometimes we are all challenged in ways we have not expected and in ways that frighten us silly.

Now I have shared with many of you what I think is a powerful prayer from the Methodist Covenant service and I share it again now.


Put me to what you will, rank me with whom you will; put me to doing, put me to suffering; let me be employed for you, or laid aside for you, exalted for you, or brought low for you; let me be full, let me be empty, let me have all things, let me have nothing: Amen.


It is a prayer which my congregations have had the opportunity to say, when we have rededicated ourselves each January. It speaks of joyous service and at times being on the back burner. I find it powerful in the position I find myself now, not knowing what my future will hold and if I will be able to be employed for God, or laid aside for God, where I will be and amongst whom. It is prayer which does powerfully sustain faith, as none of us know where God will have us, or where we will be. Sometimes the familiar and safe are ripped from under our feet, sometimes our vision for the way ahead is obscured.

So quite simply I want to leave you today knowing on our faith journeys it is ok to have ups and downs, sometimes our futures and churches will be clear but sometimes we are challenged deeper and things might feel uncertain, but even then God is with us and holds us. Everybody moves on; we journey in faith sometimes in to the unknown, but always with Christ. The joy of Ordination also brings with it times which make us question, discern more, but then move on. None of us should be afraid of allowing God to use us, as seen fit, and rejoicing at anniversaries and special times.


My challenge to you is to stay firm in your faith and grow in it as the years pass. Stay rooted in Christ Jesus, but do use the Covenant prayer at times when it speaks pertinently to you. Share your love as you do so well and care . Please don’t lose touch, and I have address slips should you want one, just ask me later. Also please ask me back, as I would value this so much. As I finish, a priest friend sent me yesterday :-


God bless you all as you move into the future and the Lord Jesus walk besides you all. Amen



101 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page