top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Friday again.....

I thought you might like this little poem which Liz has sent me.




I think its words ring true to all of us, women or men as we feel our way through this virgin virus land. It can be so difficult and we can be filled with all sorts of emotions multiple times a day. We dread each day perhaps, but also need each day to come quickly. We share tears and laughter. We can be entrepid explorers as we source some flour for baking or remember only a few short weeks ago toilet rolls but then too we can long for a duvet day, where we need nothing. We know we need a challenge, a proverbial kick up the bum, but in what area, what can we do and do well. What will we do!


Sue has been inspirational and sums things up so well in her poem:


Toast Coronavirus

I’m fed up with this virus, it's making life  a bore. So I'll pen a brilliant novel, but writing’s such a chore. I’ve tidied all my cupboards and arranged my DVDs They’re in alphabetic order, at least the As to Es. I’ve done a lot of baking, my banana cake was great But I’ve run out of bananas. I could try with Christmas dates.  Before the great pandemic, the Tesco shelves were bare, People panic buying: even toilet rolls were rare. You couldn’t purchase flour, but now I’m told there’s lots, I’d really like to get some, but there’s no delivery slots. And it’s risky going shopping when you reach a certain age. It seems the virus likes to hit when you’ve reached the doddery stage. The garden’s looking lovely, with not a weed in sight The bushes pruned, the roses staked, it should be really bright. But you can’t get any bedding plants, the garden centre’s barred. And the seeds I bought so long ago, have turned all green and hard. I really meant to plant them when I saw them on the pack, But our soil is not like Monty Don’s, p ’haps it’s compost that we lack. I could turn my hand to knitting, that keeps your hands quite full. And I’ve lots of knitting needles, but I’m rather short of wool. Perhaps I’ll try some painting, but art’s not really me My landscapes don’t look anything like the ones you’d want to see. I could practice the piano, just hymn tunes, nothing flash But I seem to have too many thumbs to give the keys a bash. The lockdown will be over in six months or so they say But make it quick to help us get through yet another day. Oh come on Boris give us just some little room for hope,  We just need some small sign from you and then we’ll try to cope. To toast this pesky virus would be really too moronic, So I’ll sip a quiet G & T but I’m clean right out of tonic.

- Sue Moll April 2020



Thank you Sue. this gave me a laugh. Do write some more!



Becky's photographed this tamarisk and clematis last weekend. Thought they were whimsical and dainty; worth a share.



Don't forget it is quiz day and results from last week plus this week's challenges come out about 6:00 tonight. Have fun and good luck!

Su was our champion last week. Well doen Su! Who will it be this week!

55 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page