top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Compline Wednesday 8th July 2020

Wednesday 8th July 2020---- Celtic Compline




This Celtic Compline comes from the form found in A Celtic Prime compiled by Brendan O'Malley. +In the name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. May your Holy Angels, O Christ, son of the living God, tend our sleep, our rest, our bright bed. Let them reveal true visions to us in our sleep, O High Prince of the Universe, O great and mysterious King. May no demons, no evil, no injury or terrifying dreams disturb our rest, our prompt and swift repose. May our wakingh, our work and our living be holy; our sl;eep and our rest, without hindrance or harm. Antiphon Keep us safe, O Lord, in the darkness of this night, for the eternal kingdom, where there is flaming radiance forever. Psalm 139 NRSV 1 O Lord, you have searched me and known me. 2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from far away. 3 You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. 4 Even before a word is on my tongue, O Lord, you know it completely. 5 You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me. 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is so high that I cannot attain it. 7 Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence? 8 If I ascend to heaven, you are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there. 9 If I take the wings of the morning and settle at the farthest limits of the sea, 10 even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me fast. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light around me become night,” 12 even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is as bright as the day, for darkness is as light to you.. 16 Your eyes beheld my unformed substance. In your book were written all the days that were formed for me, when none of them as yet existed. 17 How weighty to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Psalm 17:1-8 (NRSV) Hear a just cause, O Lord; attend to my cry; give ear to my prayer from lips free of deceit. From you let my vindication come; let your eyes see the right. If you try my heart, if you visit me by night, if you test me, you will find no wickedness in me; my mouth does not transgress. As for what others do, by the word of your lips I have avoided the ways of the violent. My steps have held fast to your paths; my feet have not slipped. I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God; incline your ear to me, hear my words. Wondrously show your steadfast love, O savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand. Guard me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings, Glory to the Father and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit; As it was in the beginning, is now: And shall be for ever. AMEN Antiphon Keep us safe, O Lord, in the darkness of this night, for the eternal kingdom, where there is flaming radiance forever. O God, Lord of Creation, I invoke you, You are my gracious counsellor. Do not turn your face toward me. for you are my judgement without betrayal. You are my King, You are my law. Yours is my flesh, my body, I love you ,blessed Christ, for my soul is yours tonight. Let me not conceal it, O King, May I be in your royal dwelling all my days. May I eat the feast from your table, Do not leave me behind, O God.

Thanks be to God. Into your hands,Lord I commend my spirit. For you have redeemed us, Lord God of Truth. Antiphon Guide us waking O Lord, and guard us sleeping; that awake we may watch with Christ, and asleep we may rest in peace. Nunc Dimittis Lord, now you let your servant go in peace:your word has been fulfilled. My own eyes have seen the salvation: which you have prepared in the sight of every nation. A light to reveal you to the nations: and the glory of your people Israel. Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit; As it was in the beginning, is now: And shall be for ever. AMEN Antiphon Guide us waking O Lord, and guard us sleeping; that awake we may watch with Christ, and asleep we may rest in peace. Lord, have mercy. Christ, have mercy. Lord, have mercy. May we do the will of God, sharing in the death of Christ, and rise in the light of heaven. May we rest safely this night, sleep in perfect peace, and rise with the morning light. May the Father watch over our beds, Christ fill our dreams, and the angels guard our souls. May the peace of the Spirit be mine this night, the peace of the Son be mine this night, and the peace of the Father be mine this night, Each morning and evening of my life. AMEN Hymn Thou art all lovely O Mary, and the stain of sin is not found in thee. You are the glory of Jerusalem. You are the joy of Israel, You are the greatest honour of our people. You are the advocate of sinners. O Mary, O Mary, Virgin most prudent, Mother most merciful, Pray for us, Intercede for us with Our Lord Jesus Christ. Gentle Mary, noble maiden, give us help! Shrine of Our Lord's body, casket of the mysteries! Queen of Queens, pure holy maiden, Pray for us that our wretched transgressions be forgiven for Thy sake. May the Divine Assistance remain always with us. And our absent loved ones. AMEN.





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page