top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Compline - Wednesday 17th March 2021


From the Community of the Tree of Life in Leicester

The Community of the Tree of Life is a House of Prayer and residential Christian Community. We are called to live a life that is rooted, flourishing and fruitful.

The Bishop of Leicester is inviting Christians aged 18-35 to spend a year exploring the ancient rhythms of monasticism whilst living in the heart of Leicester’s vibrant city culture.


This is very much like the Holywell Community in Abergavenny.



WELCOME

You are invited to light a candle.


At Compline we come to look back and let go


+ In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.


As we enter prayer now, we pause to be still, slow our breathing, and centre ourselves in the abiding presence of Christ.


A minute of silence is held

DEDICATION

Jesus says,

‘Abide in me as I abide in you’,

He invites us to come back home, to stay, rest, obey and be with him in his joy.

Lord, the day you gave us is over, and now we come to rest, grounding ourselves once more in prayer, Scripture and solitude, that we may be rooted in Christ and know his joy.

I choose to abide in Christ; present to God’s presence.

I choose to dive deep into God’s Word.

I will pray for others, encourage them, and walk with you, as together we seek to abide in Christ.


THE EXAMEN

We allow 5 minutes for the Examen.


In our Examen, we take a long, loving look back over our day with God. We notice and name God’s presence. In your imagination go hour by hour through your day, revisit each significant moment. Thank God for the gifts and graces both big and small. Lean into the difficult moments, notice and name the movements of your heart. Linger and let go to God Look forward…who does God call you to be tomorrow?


CONFESSION

Let us confess our sins and seek the tender mercy of Christ.

Lord, have mercy. Lord, have mercy.

Christ have mercy Christ, have mercy.

Lord have mercy. Lord, have mercy.


We confess to almighty God that we have sinned through our own fault, in our thoughts and in our words, in what we have done, and what we have failed to do;


Silence


Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

Give us again the joy of your saving help, and with your generous Spirit, sustain us.


Psalm 16

1 Preserve me, O God, for in you have I taken refuge;

I have said to the Lord, ‘You are my lord, all my good depends on you.’

2 All my delight is upon the godly that are in the land,

upon those who are noble in heart.

3 Though the idols are legion that many run after,

their drink offerings of blood I will not offer, neither make mention of their names upon my lips.

4 The Lord himself is my portion and my cup;

in your hands alone is my fortune.

5 My share has fallen in a fair land;

indeed, I have a goodly heritage.

6 I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel,

and in the night watches he instructs my heart.

7 I have set the Lord always before me;

he is at my right hand; I shall not fall.

8 Wherefore my heart is glad and my spirit rejoices;

my flesh also shall rest secure.

9 For you will not abandon my soul to Death,

nor suffer your faithful one to see the Pit.

10 You will show me the path of life; in your presence is the fullness of joy

and in your right hand are pleasures for evermore.



1 Peter 5:8-9

Like a roaring lion your adversary the devil prowls around, looking for someone to devour. Resist him, steadfast in your faith, for you know that your brothers and sisters in all the world are undergoing the same kinds of suffering.


Into your hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit.

Into your hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit.

For you have redeemed me, Lord God of truth.

I commend my spirit.

Into your hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit.

Into your hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit.

Keep me as the apple of your eye.

Hide me under the shadow of your wing


Intercessions

We pray personally for all.

1 world

2 church

3 community where we live

4.the sick, vulnerable neglected and abused

5.The dying, those who have died and those who mourn.


My dear ones O Lord, bless and keep, in every place where they are.

Our dear ones, O Lord, Companions and friends, bless and keep, in every place where they are.


Collect

Visit this place, O Lord, we pray, and drive far from it the snares of the enemy; may your holy angels dwell with us and guard us in peace, and may your blessing be always upon us; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.


THE CONCLUSION

In peace we will lie down and sleep; for you alone, Lord, make us dwell in safety. Abide with us, Lord Jesus, for the night is at hand and the day is now past. As the night watch looks for the morning, so do we look for you, O Christ. Amen


The Lord bless us and watch over us; the Lord make his face shine upon us and be gracious to us; the Lord look kindly on us and give us peace.


+ in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.


We extinguish our candles





34 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page