top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerhianprime

Compline - 17.02.2021 - Penny Snowden




NIGHT PRAYER

Whilst candles are lit





In the night when unnamed monsters roam

your grace I know that you are with me.

Your light will shine in me like a candle flame against the dark.

And by this light the lion will have no substance

It’s roar only a loud noise in the wind - an empty shadow.


Scripture verse

‘In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your

strength‘ Isaiah 30:16


Song


Heart of Peace

The Heart of peace to save the day

Reach for heaven made whole again.

In returning God will give you rest

Within the quietness his love will be there.

God from heaven to earth comes down

The breath of life the Stars the Son.

In the dawning hear a voiceless sound

Within Jesus, God to earth come down.

The word of God, call my name

The breath of life restores again,

In returning God will give you rest

Within the quietness his love will be there.

God to Earth come down

In life, in hope, in love.

God to earth come down

Bring life, bring hope, bring love (repeat)


Confession


‘I said, “O will confess my transgressions to the Lord”, and you forgave the guilt of

my sin. Therefore let all who are faithful offer prayer to you’.

God our loving parent:

we come to you in this quiet hour

returning to where we find true rest and peace;

We are sorry for all that we have done

or failed to do today


that is not according to your purpose in us.

We ask the assurance of your merciful forgiveness

that, accepted afresh,

We may rest tonight

and arise in your strength

to serve you in quietness and in trust:

we ask this for our Saviour’s sake,

Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen


Absolution


‘As surely as the tide will ebb and flow

whether in the calmness of summer or the turmoil of winter

the hopeful promise of Spring or the regretful pull of the autumn so I am with you’.

God forgive us all our sins and make us anew in His image


The Psalm

Psalm 4

1 Answer me when I call to you, my righteous God. Give me relief from

my distress; have mercy on me and hear my prayer.

2 How long will you people turn my glory into shame? How long will you

love delusions and seek false gods

3 Know that the LORD has set apart his faithful servant for himself; the

LORD hears when I call to him.

4 Tremble and do not sin; when you are on your beds, search your

hearts and be silent.

5 Offer the sacrifices of the righteous and trust in the LORD.

6 Many, LORD, are asking, “Who will bring us prosperity?” Let the light

of your face shine on us. 7 Fill my heart with joy when their grain and

new wine abound. 8 In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone,

LORD, make me dwell in safety.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit;

as it was in the beginning, is now, and shall be for ever. Amen


The Word

‘Come let us return to the Lord: for it is he that has torn, and he will heal us; he has

struck down, and he will bind us up. After two days he will revive us; on the third

day he will raise us up, that we may live by him. Let us know, let us press on to

know the Lord; his appearing is as sure as the dawn; he will come to us like the

showers, like the spring rains that water the earth Hoses 6:1-3

After a silence

Hear what the spirit is saying to the church.

Thanks be to God


God of every hour, our guide and comfort through the day, our guardian and

keeper through the night; be close to us now as we prepare to leave this day

behind and enter into your rest.

This is the message we have received and proclaim to one another

God is light and in him is no darkness found

If we walk in the light with him we have fellowship with one another and the

blood of Jesus washes us clean of imperfection

Jesus is the eternal life that was with the Father

In him our joy is complete 1John1

God of every hour, our guide and comfort through the day, our guardian and

keeper through the night; be close to us now as we leave this day behind and

enter into your rest.

The Apostle’s Creed may be said:

I believe in God, the Father almighty,

      creator of heaven and earth.

I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord,

      who was conceived by the Holy Spirit

      and born of the virgin Mary.

      He suffered under Pontius Pilate,

      was crucified, died, and was buried;

      he descended to hell.

      The third day he rose again from the dead.

      He ascended to heaven

      and is seated at the right hand of God the Father almighty.

      From there he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,

      the holy catholic church,

      the communion of saints,

      the forgiveness of sins,

      the resurrection of the body,

      and the life everlasting. Amen


The prayers

Your Lord, are with us in this place

Your presence fills it

Your presence is peace


Your Lord, are with us in this place

Your presence fills it

Your presence awakens joy

Your Lord, are with us in this place

Your presence fills it

Your presence deepens trust

Your Lord, are with us in this place

Your presence fills it

Your presence brings hope

Open our eyes, Lord

that we may see your presence

that is all about us.

Open our ears, Lord

that we may hear your voice

that is quiet yet ever near.

Open our heart, Lord

that we may feel your love

close and real in each encounter.

Open our senses, Lord

make us aware of your power,

your presence in each hour.

Dedication & Blessings

All that I am, Lord

I place into your hands, Lord

All that I do, Lord

I place into your hands, Lord

Everything I work for

I place into your hands, Lord

Those whom I work with

I place into your hands, Lord

Every thing I hope for

I place into your hands, Lord

The troubles that weary me

I place into your hands, Lord

The thoughts that disturb me

I place into your hands, Lord

Each one I pray for

I place into your hands, Lord

Each that I care for

I place into your hands, Lord

Deep peace of the flowing air to you

deep peace of the quiet earth

deep peace of the running wave to you

the love of the Son to you


Deep peace of the shining stars to you

deep peace of the glowing moon

deep peace of the floating snow to you

the love of the Son to you

Deep peace of God’s loving arms to you

deep peace of this radiant warmth

deep peace of the Son of Peace to you

the love of the Son to you

the love of the Son to you

All: Lord keep me safe when times get hard,

Lord keep me safe as I walk this world,

Lord keep me safe as night draws near,

Lord keep me safe within you heart.

Go in peace:

The wisdom of the Wonderful Counsellor guide us,

The strength of the Mighty God defend us,

The love of the Everlasting Father enfold us,

The peace of the Prince of Peace be upon us

And the blessing of God Almighty,

Father, Son and Holy Spirit

Be upon us all this night and for evermore. Amen



46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page